Return to Curriculum

Our Approach

We operate a thematic approach to the curriculum that is relevant to the children in school; where meaningful links can be made between subjects in all three key stages. In the Foundation Stage there will be a topic each half term while in Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 classes, each topic will last one term and incorporate the skills that are needed at each level within the National Curriculum.

The Foundation Stage curriculum is planned around the following seven areas of learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The curriculum for Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 is based on National Curriculum skills taught in the following eight areas:

  • Art and Creativity
  • Citizenship and Ethics
  • Faith and Belief
  • Language, Oracy and Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Physical and Emotional Health
  • Place and Time
  • Science and Technology